First timer with minion method and mr. brown

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike W.

TVWBB Member
Hi!

I'm going to be using the minion method tonight for a pork shoulder, and before I get started, I would like to make sure I understand everything. I expect the weather to be upper 50's, lower 60's tonight with no wind or rain.

OK, first, you take about 20 briquettes and light them in the chimney starter. After they ash over (about 15 minutes) and are going, you dump them in the WSM that has been filled to the top with charcoal. Then, throw in some of the smoke wood you're using, put the WSM together. Adjust the vents to obtain temp wanted. Finally after that, throw the meat on.

After reading the write-up, it sounds like there's not really any waiting time that's done between putting the charcoal on and putting the meat on.

I'm a little scared because I've never done this before and we're having a party tomorrow! Also, for the Mr. Brown, am I looking for a lid temp of about 250 for using the minion? Being that it will cook overnight, should I tone it down a little, or is that a good temp? Also, should I wrap the pork in aluminum foil before I cook them? The recipe doesn't say to do it, but my buddy at work told me the pork comes out a lot more moist.

Thanks for your help!

Mike W,
If you foil the butts before you cook them you will not get the bark and smoke ring that defines fine Q! I never foil mine and (so far) they have come out great. Usually people foil butts at the end to speed up the cook, depending on what time you start and how large the butts, and how many butts you do an all nighter should get you done in time for your party. 250F at the dome is perfect for the all nighter, remember it is a few degrees cooler at the grate than it is right in the dome.
For myself i would say don't foil them and set them cook to about 195F internal temp. , pull and enjoy.
P.S. dont forget the coleslaw on the sandwiches!

Arthur