First Time Lump Question

Scott Hammock

TVWBB Member
I'm using Royal Oak for the first time tomorrow. Doing a pork butt.
My question is: am I going to use the same amount in the ring and in the chimney that I did for charcoal?
I've NEVER used it before. Done some reading, but can't find where it's addressed.
Thanks!

I'm using Royal Oak for the first time tomorrow. Doing a pork butt.
My question is: am I going to use the same amount in the ring and in the chimney that I did for charcoal?
I've NEVER used it before. Done some reading, but can't find where it's addressed.
Thanks!

In my experience Royal Oak lump burns a little more quickly than briquettes and also spikes up a bit hotter from time to time. Briquettes are more consistent in both temps and length of burn, but there's no denying that lump burns a little cleaner and you can't beat how it crackles and pops like real wood.

So, I would expect to use more fuel in general and you will have some temp spikes. But since a pork butt is so forgiving on temps I wouldn't worry about it too much.

Also, there is often quite a bit of dust in the bottom of a bag of Royal Oak lump. I would try to keep that out of your smoker if you can. I've found it makes the fire burn a little bit sooty and just generally doesn't smell great.

Have fun and can't wait to hear how it goes!

You'll use a LOT more RO lump than any briquette I've ever used. That's why I usually dump in a layer of briquettes first. Then I pour in the lump....pack, and shake and pack some more lump in til the ring is full. I often use briquettes to light with as well, but as long as they're mostly ashed over, you'll still get a very clean smoke start compared to dumping onto unlit briquettes.