First time kabob fail

Eugene Deel

No pictures... they looked great but that wasn't the issue. I wasn't careful about getting the meat cubes the same size so I had some undercooked pieces. I used wood skewers soaked for about 20 minutes in water and several of them broke as I turned them. I used round wood skewers and sure enough some of the meat pieces were loose on the skewer and did turn over with the skewer. I've never done kabobs before because, frankly, I didn't see the purpose. I normally do a piece of meat and a vegetable basket over indirect heat.

Are kabobs over rated? Should I get the metal and flat Weber skewers and give it another try? Should I just embrace who I truly am and be happy with a big hunk of meat and grilled seasoned veggies?

Kabobs are about the visual presentation. You are right that it is easier to cook the meat and veggies separate but the image of the various items on the skewer makes it worth the learning curve and work. It seems that you have a solid idea of what to do different the next time. It is seldom that the first attempt at anything is a total success so don't give up. Make the changes you noted and try again

Mike

You can use 2 skewers to stop the rotation ,I have some flat metal that work fine but depending on how tender and the cut of meat you might get some pieces to spin,I always grill meat and veggies separate because they need different amounts of time,its a good looking plate with 2-3 kabobs laying on it with some sauce on the side ,keep trying till you get a method you like

I like to occasionally cook up kabobs because you can get nice crust on more sides of the cuts - just watch the heat and any flare ups.

I'll do up a combo of chicken (teriyaki marinade) and beef (steak marinade) on separate skewers from the veggies like Mike suggested above - seems to work better for me.

Serve w/ fresh pan softened pita and hummus.

Kabobs are about the visual presentation.