DIY Smokenator

MattD.

Has anyone built their own? Can make myself pay that much for a piece of bent sheet metal with a few holes in it. Figured I could by some metal and take some snips to eat. Am I missing something?

Has anyone built their own? Can make myself pay that much for a piece of bent sheet metal with a few holes in it. Figured I could by some metal and take some snips to eat. Am I missing something?

Probably not missing much.. it's pretty low tech. There are also others ways to get similar or better performance such as a Snake?Fuse method or using a basket with a defuser.

The good 'ole 2 brick plus foil method works so well that I scrapped my smokenator idea a few years back.
The Smokenator is a nice setup though...

in my opinion, the smokenator is over rated.
I've heard great things about it and I've heard horrible things about it... all from experienced cooks.
of course, I have never used the unit before, so who am I to say or judge...?
but from the reviews I have gathered, i'd pass.
hell, the smoker plate I made years ago, I don't use that anymore....
there are better ways to smoke in a kettle.

The good 'ole 2 brick plus foil method works so well that I scrapped my smokenator idea a few years back.
The Smokenator is a nice setup though...

in my opinion, the smokenator is over rated.
I've heard great things about it and I've heard horrible things about it... all from experienced cooks.
of course, I have never used the unit before, so who am I to say or judge...?
but from the reviews I have gathered, i'd pass.
hell, the smoker plate I made years ago, I don't use that anymore....
there are better ways to smoke in a kettle.