Burnt Ends from HH Brisket

Tim D.

TVWBB Fan
I am planning on smoke'n a full packer next weekend with high heat. I have never done burnt ends before and plan on doing them this time. My question is, do I let the temp come down below the 325 before I put the burnt ends back on? If so, what temp would be good and for how long? If not, how long would you keep the burnt ends on at 325? Thanks!

Tim

Tim, once I have foiled my brisket and it has reached the jiggly or probe tender stage I take the brisket off, chop up the point add sauce and rub then go from there. It's kind of a feel for thing. The burnt ends will need to render more and for me that's at least an hour and more like two hours. A lot depends at what stage my smoker is at temp wise. I like my ends a bit crusty on the outside. To me it's like meat candy.

Last edited:
325 is fine for an extra hour or 2. If your sauce is really sweet I would wait to sauce them till the last 30-45 minutes.

Great! I was hoping I could keep the temp up so they are not on there for 3-4 more hours. So basically, it's going to be based on feel as to when they are done??

Tim with the brisket itself the cook is determined by probing the flat. Once that is where you want it you can separate the point and carry on. When I said feel for what I meant depends on how much further rendered you like the burnt ends. Here are a couple of photos. Notice some ends were sacrificed before the end of the cook. They were great to eat in the first photo but I like them well rendered and crispy on the outside so my preference was the second photo. That's the feel for.
IMG_0531_zps71e955ca.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
IMG_0532_zpsf44f91cb.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]

Last edited:
Gary,

That makes sense! Thanks so much for the pics as I now know what to shoot for visually. Also, thanks for the hunger pains those images caused!! :) Can't wait to give it a shot next weekend! Blessings!

Tim