Basic rub recipe ?

Brent B

TVWBB Member
I have been using a commercial season for several years that consists of salt, pepper, garlic and paprika. I like this blend a lot, but it is a real fine grind. I would like to be able to come up with a vey similar blend only a little coarser from fresh ingredients for use as a rub on butts and briskets. Does anyone happen to have a recipe or an idea the ratios I might use to start experimenting with.

See this post.

Grinding your own chilies and other spices lets you better control the texture. Using chilies other than paprika offers much better flavor, imo, as paprika has flavor that does not stand up to long cooking. It also tends toward the bitter which necessitates more sugar to counteract it. Sugar tends to flatten flavors considerably.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Brent Bristle:
I have been using a commercial season for several years that consists of salt, pepper, garlic and paprika. I like this blend a lot, but it is a real fine grind. I would like to be able to come up with a vey similar blend only a little coarser from fresh ingredients for use as a rub on butts and briskets. Does anyone happen to have a recipe or an idea the ratios I might use to start experimenting with. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I agree with Kevin about paprika, I don't like it or use it in BBQ rubs.

For pork I like to aim for sweet and a medium grind to the rub. I think any 'BBQ' rub must contain 3 ingredients salt, pepper and sugar. This is just my preference..... After that the ingredients can be whatever you like which could include granulated garlic and onion powder, ground mustard, chiles, cinnamon, all spice, ginger and cumin.

For beef, I prefer a coarse more robust rub, but still must contain salt, pepper and sugar. Then I like to add minced garlic, minced onion, chile pepper flakes, oregano, ground mustard and cumin.