Barbecuewood.com Questions

Greg P.

I can't seem to find any local sources for good smoke wood around here so I turned to this website a few months ago. I ordered their apple pellets and have had some good results by foiling them and using them in my kettle.

Now that I am getting ready to start using my WSM I need to move up to the chunks.

My first question is - has anyone ordered/used their "Factory 2nds"? The website describes them as: "Not big enough for Chunks or small enough for Chips approximately 3 inches long and 1/2 to 1 inch square (1728 Cubic Inches)".

I know I am a novice at using the WSM but I would think that using smaller pieces (larger than chips) distributed among unlit briquettes (Minion Method) rather than a few large chunks would yield more smoke over time and a better result. Also, I would think that they would burn more consistently throughout the cook without the temp spikes when a huge chunk ignites that I've read about on here.

My second question is – Is there a similar website on the East coast like Barbecuewood.com? The shipping from Washington to Florida is quite expensive.

Thank you in advance for any replies.

Chuncks are used by more folks than anything else. My purchases have been from Home Depot and BBQ Galore. Many have used Cabelas.

My personal preference is for local wood. Peach and apple orchards are great around here. They have piles of old branches and trees. I have found pecan and oak as well. There is something about local wood for me. Winos call it terroir or something like that.

If I were you I would head straight to the citrus groves....but do not forget the hickory-it is the signature wood for pork.

Greg,

I agree with Steve; use local if available; it's just going to be less expensive. I think the chunks work better due to their size; you get a longer burn. You might check out Chucks Smokehouse. I've been very pleased with their product and service. http://chuckssmokehouse.com/index.html