Barbecue restaurant oportunity

John Thom

TVWBB Member
I was approached by a local businessman who owns a bbq restaurant to basically run it for him. By that I mean come up with the menu, cook the food. That's about it. Not manager or anything. Pretty small restaurant also. I couldn't be more excited about the prospect. I love cooking, and bbq has always been a big one for me. He and his wife are awesome, talked a lot with them today. I have never worked in a restaurant before, but I grew up around it(my dad had his own four star restaurant) and it has always been my dream to own my own bbq restaurant. I am currently employed as a second year apprentice electrician and I hate my job. The work, but most of all the journeyman I apprentice off, and the manager of the business. Sorry to write a book here, but I was just wanting some input, and maybe some advice or what I can expect. Would love to help convince the wife and reassure her that we won't be in the poor house. She's definitely not on board with this. Thanks everyone as always.

What could be better than to follow your dream? Naturally you'll want to do your homework and find out all the details. You may want to consult a lawyer/accountant and see what, if any, financial obligations you would have if the business goes belly up. Also, do you get paid regardless of business profit? etc...
Wishing you the best of luck. Keep us informed.

John, often times what we think is a good opportunity from the outside doesn't pan out for one reason or another.

I would suggest to help out in the restaurant evenings and/or weekends. This way you get a first hand opportunity to see what the work is like.

No matter how much you think you may enjoy the food industry, it can't be for the money.