Bacon/ pork belly question

M Crooks

TVWBB Fan
So my first time making bacon went great. My buddy was at a Koren market in Chicago and asked if I wanted anything. I very quickly responded with pork belly or side if it was under $4.99 a pound. He then came back and asked if I wanted boneless for $3.69 or $3.49 bone in? There is a slight language barrier between him and the butcher, then agian him and me. He again told me it was pork belly and they will only sell it whole. Still confused I roll the dice and just tell him boneless and get it. So an hour later he showed up with 10 pounds of the whole side for $36. They cut the all the rib bones and left all the meat and fat all the way to the skin.

Can I quick cure with skin on and remove after smoking? Should I cut the meat in between bones off after smoking before slicing?

Didnt think to ask you guys before I rubbed to slabs so pics half way into that.

I'm no expert on bacon, not by any means. I've only done it twice. I've READ that it is better to cut the skin off first, so as to better allow the brining process to take place. I'm sure the others with tons more experience than me when it comes to bacon will advise you soon. Good luck. You got a pretty good price, by the way. I just paid $4.99/lb. a couple of weeks ago.

Ya I paid 4.99 for my last one but it was skinless. Hmm thought I read it was easier after smoked?

Like I say, I'm no expert. A novice is probably a stretch!! I just did some reading before I did mine. I used Bob Correll's method both times and it came out great. My first belly was supposed to be skinned and it still had the Hide on it when I unwrapped it. I skinned it and it took me about 20 minutes and it was a bi@#h!!

M Crooks, that kind of cut is called JBO Japanese Break Operation. That's what I also buy. Never heard of until the person who gets it for me asked which I wanted. Good stuff, meaty!

Hope this helps