Atypical Intro from NC

Jem Scott

TVWBB Member
WARNING: A SENSE OF HUMOR IS REQUIRED FOR FURTHER READING ENJOYMENT!

I have several passions. Cooking is in the top 3, but not necessarily #1. Why would it be? Life should be about passion. Photography is my favorite hobby, cooking a close second but exchanging bodily fluids trumps all. I have been a charcoal grill cook since a teenager, have work in several commercial kitchens/restaurants. At home, I had never owned a gas grill until I met my last partner about 4 years ago. I thought, damn, this is what all the buzz is about.... instant heat. Hank Hill started making sense... taste the meat, not the heat. I rarely ate where I was a hired cook. Kinda like (something I can't quite remember), but it ends with 'on your own doorstep'.

I've been into dry rubs for the past couple of years with fair to great reviews from my guests.... and more importantly, myself. These were all done on the gas CharBroil grill. Having a smoker has been weighing heavy on my mind the past year though.

Soooo, anyway, I fired up my brand new out of the box 18.5" WSM this past weekend. Three racks of ribs and two chickens halved. I followed a rub recipe found on this site for the ribs and used it on the chooks as well. The ribs cooked for four hours, but I think another couple of hours mayI have made them more fall-off-the-bone. They just weren't quite as tender as I was expecting, but with a great smoke ring. The chicken halves went for about three hours and were delicious. Neither had a mopping sauce. Would that have mad a difference?

So, back to me. The few introductions I've read didn't include any self portraits. Allow me to differentiate. Don't confuse these with the latest trends of 'selfies' by the likes of Weiner and Geraldo.

New%20Stingy%20Lid-1%20BW-XL.jpg

I also like to hike and bike.....
Sams%20Photos-206-Edit-XL.jpg

Hard%20Ride%20I-11-XL.jpg

But, I also like my lids.....
Low%20Key%20SP-1-XL.jpg

Have%20a%20Cigar-97-XL.jpg