A "fowl" Conundrum

Ron Hunter

TVWBB Member
Last Sunday when I took off the 2 pork butts, I put on 4 whole chickens. I didn't butterfly or split them, just washed, seasoned and put two on each rack. Kept the lid temp at 270 - 290, usually on the high side.

Now I've grilled a lot of chicken, I've smoked a lot of chicken on a ECB. I say this to let you know while I'm still a newbie on the WSM, I'm not a novice cook.

The largest bird still flowed red juices when the temp in the thigh was over 170. I let it go that high because I kept seeing the red. I finally took it off at 175. But the little flesh pocket between the thigh and lower part of the breast was still flowing red. The breast in various parts was pushing 170. Obviously the fowl was somewhat dry but not too 'foul'.
icon_biggrin.gif

I smoked it with a LOT of cherry. But I don't believe the juices were dyed cherry.
I was careful that I got that part of the chicken - it was done and tasted fine. The handshake was a little stiff but not bad. I didn't get sick.
But I wonder - what caused the apparent problem? Could it be that I need to at least split the bird? I don't with turkey so I don't think that was the problem. Have any of you ever had anything similar?
BTW - fresh birds, not frozen.

Ron

Did you brine the birds. This is quite common when I brine.
You will notice that after resting for 10 minutes that the red juices will be all but drained, much of it comes from the body cavity. 175 - 180 for the thigh is the correct temperature.

Regards