Costco Meats

Wayne E.

TVWBB Member
I'm new to bbq/smoking and I have a new wsm 18.5 that I'm doing a few mods to before putting it into service.

I have been reading forum posts and the low and slow book. I noticed costco is mentioned fairly regularly on the forum, and since my wife and I are long time costco members I'm wondering what type of meats you all purchase from there for your bbq?

I have to make the monthly costco run this coming week so maybe I'll check out what they have.

Thanks

Babybacks,Spares, Briskits, and pork butts. Way better quality than Sams club but more expensive as well. I've never been dissapointed with anything so far, Ken

we mostly get our meat from costco. wife won't eat anything else. you should look for a smart and final or it might be cash and carry in yer area, its where i get my ribs and brisket.

My brother clued me in about Costco. He is a member and often buys meat there. He is extremely particular, so he looks at the steaks (as a for instance) before he takes them home. Some times he passes them up. I have had him pick up steaks for me (choice rib steaks) and I have NOT been disappointed.

Dale53

I buy most of mine from one of two local butcher shops. I will occasionally buy meat from Costco or even Sams Club, but the Choice meats from the warehouse clubs tend to be rather bland & grain-fed - including Costco.

Good quality, yes. Anything to write home about? Not really. The problem is that meat from elsewhere gets pricey.