Your-all experiences with uncommon wood.

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

"All About Smoke Woods" http://www.virtualweberbullet.com/woods.html discusses the most common wood types used for barbecue: alder, apple, cherry, hickory, mesquite, oak and pecan.

But less commonly used (yet still appropriate) types are also mentioned. The dry, desert-southwest summer heat here severely limits the availability of barbecue-appropriate, locally grown wood varieties, although we do have considerable olive, flowering plum and mulberry.

Would anyone like to talk about their experiences with uncommon, yet appropriate barbecue woods?

I have a friend who has a large smokehouse on his farm, and uses strictly mulberry. He gave me a bunch and I use it on almost every cook. Either by itself or mixed with Oak and Hickory. I've used mulberry, apple, and cherry I'm not experienced enough to really be able to tell that much difference between fruit woods, and since the mulberry is free.........

Hi Dave, I mostly use hickory, mesquite, pecan and apple in that order. I was picking up some sausage at a meat market last weekend and got some Maple. It worked really well with the sausages. I will definately use that again.

They also have Grapevine. Never used it but am going to try some next session. They have just about every smoking wood known to man there!

Mark

I have used plum, ,Mulberry and peach!
The Mulberry givea a lite smoke and has a fragrant smell. Peach is probably my favorite wood.
It has a unique flavor that is great on chicken, ribs and shoulder.
Plum is good similar to peach but a littler stronger and more pungent. all in all they are great woods peach being the best IMHO. /infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

The peach groves of S.C. are just 50 minutes away, I would be willing to bet there are peach tree trimmings to be had....I will let you know.