Wood Help

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Hello all. It has been a while since my last post and I hope that everyone is making some great Q.
I have been doing ribs for a couple of years. I just got my WSM last Christmas, and have made some excellent ribs. The problem is that I am not getting enough of a smokey flavor to them. I will detail my method.
First I trim my ribs. Then I wash them in apple cider vinegar. Then I rub them and let them sit overnight. I take them out an hour or so before I cook. I light a full chimney of kingsford and wait until it is white and ashed over. I add this to the charcoal ring, and then pour more coals over them. This is where I add my wood. Usually three of four pieces of apple, of hickory, or mesquite. When the remainder of the coals are white, I add my ribs. Is this the correct method? I am going to switch to the Minion method, but when do I add the wood? Any help would be appreciated.

I believe you want to put your meat(s) on, then the smoke wood. Are they chucks or chips, wet or dry? I think most use chunks, as they will smoke over a longer time period, though in a thread earlier, there was some very interesting info on how meat takes up smoke - basically stopping beyond 140*. Hope that helps and I'm sure there will be others.

BeerBoy

'Afternoon Derek: