Which grill for camping?

Andy.Craig

TVWBB Fan
We have an upcoming 3 day camping trip and I am looking for a grill to cook the normal items. Burgers, steak, veggies, chicken, etc. I have a 22inch mastertouch and 18inch wsm. Here are my options...

1. Use the bottom of my wsm
2. Breakdown my mastertouch and pack in the car
3. Buy a smokey or jumbo joe
4. Buy an 18inch kettle and assemble at site and break it down on way home

How easy do the legs come out of the kettles?

Any feedback would be awesome!

On your 18, do you have that button to push to release the legs? If so I would take the 18 or the WSM bottom. If you want a Smokey Joe, you’ll need to get a used one. I ordered a Smokey Joe from Weber on 7/21. It hasn’t shipped yet. I called Weber this week and they said they have it in stock, but they’re backed up on shipping.

How many people are you cooking for? When you say "chicken" do you mean bone-in pieces like thighs or lightweight cuts like BSCBs?

Is there fire restrictions where you are camping? I did that--took my smokey Joe camping to big bear - couldn't use charcoal due to fire restrictions. Couldn't find a portable gasser to save my life on that trip! Next time I went camping, I had a gasser!

There are not restrictions. It will be just 4-5 people. Cooking tri tip maybe, wings, chicken thighs, breakfast on a cast iron.

I traded in my Smokey Joe for a Jumbo last winter for camping, it's easier to cook for 4 and easier to do indirect. I suppose the base and lid of the WSM would work but the JJ is more conductive to being portable, locking lid an all. I have an 18" kettle, to me it'd be too big to hassle with although if you are staying local that may not be an issue. When we camp we travel long distances. I started using lighter cubes for traveling too.