What do good ribs taste like?

Dennis T.

TVWBB Super Fan
Failing to find a "Dumb Question" forum, I'll post my question here since it pertains to smoking ribs.

I'm still learning the WSM ropes and conducted my second smoke of baby back ribs yesterday. I must be learning something (old dogs can!) because during this smoke I didn't experience a temperature runaway like I did during my first BB rib smoke.

I smoked the ribs 3.5-1.25-.25 (my variation of 3-2-1) for a total of 5 hours. I kept the lid temperature between 230-240 for the vast majority of the smoke (actually got bored at times).

The ribs were great ... but a cook is his/her worst critic so even as I was eating them I was thinking of what I could do differently next time.

It occured to me that I don't have a clear idea of what I'm chasing. How does one know what great ribs taste like? I liked the ribs very much, but could they be better?

Funny question I know ...

no rules, it's what you like. With ribs, one thing is key for me, tenderness with a bit of a tug. It's hard to master, but when you do, you'll love it.

OK, that's not taste, but to each his own on that.

As for your 3-2-1 variation, i'd try a little less time in the foil next time. No more then an hour. You'll still get great results, I promise

Hi Jay,

I guess I'm thinking that most people haven't been exposed to great ribs. There's a rib joint that is HUGE around here ... but their ribs are tasteless. I think they're popular because the ribs are tender ... maybe people are used to tough ribs ... but the taste is gone.

(You're in Central Ohio ... perhaps you know the name of the place I'm speaking about ...)

Dennis, I am curious as to the name of the restraunt you are talking about. Certainly you aren't talking about the place where the bones are smoky, or could it be burbanks?