Started 3 whole briskets High Heat at 5:30am!

Phillip Moore

TVWBB Member
I'm cooking for our party today, and I started this morning with 3 whole briskets, about 39 pounds before trimming. I wasn't sure I was going to get it all on the 22" WSM, I think it was bigger in my head than in real life. I managed to fit it all though.

Anyone ever try laying the briskets on their sides to make them fit easier?

I was wanting to try making one of those breakfast sausage fatties as a reward for only getting up at 5am to cook, but I'm not sure it would fair so well with the high heat brisket method. Maybe shield it with some foil?

I cant wait to get it all done and see what people think. This is my first time cooking for a crowd. We'll ahve about 23 adults and 8 children in the end. I'm pretty sure i'll have left overs.

We are having :

* Ton of Brisket
* Pulled Pork (I made that last weekend and froze)
* Baked beans (6 quarts) I made from scratch from Cook's Illustrated recipe. This recipe is quite good, but I trippled it, and I think I might not should have tripped the water amount. I had to take some liquid out and simmer it separately to not overcook beans to make it thick at all
* Potato salad my wife made
* Cake!
* A whole mess of Dublin Dr Pepper

You can cook the fatty for a while - 20-30 min or so - then shield with foil.

When the beans are done check for soupiness. If too soupy remove a blender's worth, purée well, then stir back in. If still too loose allow to simmer gently, uncovered, stirring occasionally, till the liquid reduces and it's the consistency you seek.

Have fun today!

Phillip, you are my new hero! Yes, you will have plenty of left-overs. I use the general guide of 1/2 lb of uncooked butt or brisket per person. Sounds like a whole lotta fun. Enjoy the day!

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">* A whole mess of Dublin Dr Pepper </div></BLOCKQUOTE>