Rubbing Your Ribs the Night Before?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug Walker

TVWBB Member
I have been noticing that most people seem to prefer to apply their rub and let the ribs sit for a few hours at Room Temp before Smoking. Is there any dissadvantage to rubbing the ribs the night before?

Doug W,

I've only done ribs once(so I'm no expert)and I put it on about 1 and 1/2 hours before and they were good. I've read if you do it too soon the ribs taste "hammy". I think Kevin Taylor says it best "experiment". Try one way then next time try another and see which way you like the best.

Bob

I've put rub on ribs the night before. I'm pretty new at this so if they were "hammy", I didn't notice it. Hey - ham is not a bad taste anyway, so what's the risk? Try it. I've done both ways and all have been better than most resturants.

I think an overnight rub for ribs is overkill. A larger piece of meat like a butt is perfect for a longer rub time, but ribs are so thin that the spices (in my opinion) can overpower the meat. Usually salt in the rub is the culprit, thus the hammy taste others report.

Taking that salt thought a step further... if there is no salt in the rub, you'd probabaly be OK. Just keep the amount down to a light sprikle, then add more right before cooking.

Depends on the rub. BRITU rub is too salty to leave on overnight. With most rubs I use I always get ribs ready the night before. I also put them right on the smoker from the fridge. Makes for a better smokring.

I don't know about that, Jason! I see every comp cooker rubbing their ribs the night before. I have done it for years and never had a thing wrong with them.

I do admit I usually always add more salt just before turn-in.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Kevin Taylor:
[qb] I don't know about that, Jason! I see every comp cooker rubbing their ribs the night before. I have done it for years and never had a thing wrong with them.