Quick overnight question

Mark Dietrich

TVWBB Member
I put a 6-pound packer on at about 12:30 this morning. Right now it's ten after 11:00, and my little brisket is sitting at 176. Am I on schedule here? I sort of expected the little guy to go a little faster. It is sitting above a 12-pound shoulder, if that makes any difference. And I've been so good... haven't even peeked.

Thanks,

Mark, sounds like you have a nice little cook going there
icon_smile.gif
How long has it been at 176? It's probably sitting in the plateau. I've had temps settle in the 170's for hours before. I usually bump the temps up 20 degrees to "break the stall" Dont worry, after the plateau temps should start to rise more quickly.

Brandon

And the obvious follow-up that I should have thought to ask before: I haven't added any fuel, and temp is stable right now at 240. At what point do I panic and add, and what's the best way to do that? Lit? Unlit? I've never tried to go this long before.

Thanks again,

Mark - I'll let the brisket experts keep me in check. But AFA adding fuel to the WSM I have done it several ways during overnight cooks.

Unlit is relatively easy to load if you have a "rake" or similar tool available to move the fuel around once loaded. If not - heavy gloves and/or long BBQ tongs will work. In a pinch I have also used a piece of sheet aluminum or flashing to load fuel (used as a slide). This sounds complex but actually easy to do through the side door. Slide fuel into place and move about using tongs, rake, etc.

If you are adding lit, then you should have the lit coals from the chimney available in a bucket and really should have the heavy gloves available. Use tongues to load coals individually. The best method was to use a slide made from a piece of sheet metal/flashing. I loaded the charcoal onto the flashing and slid it in through the side door. You can distribute after wards using long tongs or the rake if you have one.