Questions on Weber Performer Gen 1 SS - Never owned a kettle

GregPeters

I have been using my Weber Smokey Mountain for 15+ years, love it!
Always had a propane grill, loved my old Weber, hate my new Weber.

I was on the hunt for a Weber Performer Gen 1 SS, just so I could use the cart for my WSM.

Well, I found one, and it seems to nice to tear apart. Will post pics later when the lighting is better.
There is a bar code under the gas assist plate, but I can't find what it means. 183977 is the code.
Not sure the age, but guessing mid/late 1990's?

So this is going to be my first charcoal grill ever, I only used one once before!

It has all the gas assist parts, except the tank.
The regulator hose is old and I need the newer LP tank connection.
I bought a new generic regulator, I think I can piece it together to use a modern tank.

The grill grate is crudy/rusty. I am guessing it was originally plated steel.
Looking on Amazon, I can use any 22" Weber type grate?
I want SS grate, but I see there are options.
I want the side panels that lift? Why would I want the center piece to lift out?
Then I see the Easy Spin Grate
I own Hunsaker Vortex Basket and Plate for my WSM, I see they also have SS grates.

The charcoal grate looks fine to me. But I see they have dividers or baskets for charcoal.
Do I need those?
I see half moon shape ones, and center ones.
I will never "smoke" or low and slow on this, but not sure if I need something for this.

All good questions. Luckily with good answers too. There are great replacement grates. Charcoal baskets cand halp with many things, including two zone cooking. Keeps the grill alive longer too. Protects the bowl. Grill opening is useful for using vortex. Can also hold various tools. ...wok plate etc. Yes, the lift grates are awesome.
you might not be able to use a generic regulator. make sure it is the right level.
A lot of people find the performer their favorite. Do not be surprised if yoi find it your number one grill