Pork Butt -- cooking time

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mark F.

TVWBB Member
Hi,
I'm new to the Weber smoker and I'm planning on smoking my first pork butt this weekend. I've looked over a few recipes and they're all pretty much the same. The major difference between them, however, is the cooking time. Some say just 8 hours and others up to 19 hours. Which cooking time should I expect?
Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Mark

Assuming a butt of about 7lbs, and a temp around 225 degrees, expect a long cook... up to 20 hours, maybe. My suggestions:

1. Use the Minion method for lighting the coals, and cook it overnight if possible.
2. If you need it done by a specific time, start it cooking at least 20 hours prior to that time. If it finishes early, it's real easy to keep warm until its time to pull & eat.

Good luck, and don't worry. As long as you're patient, it'll come out fine.

You should allow at least 2 hours per pound if not a little more. I usually do two 7-8 pounders at a time and need 15-17 hours. Don't go by time, go by internal temperature of about 195-200.

Mark

Go to the home page and look under cooking topics, then pork. You'll find very specific info on cooking butts and also info on firing up your cooker. I assume you're using a WSM. Use this forum as a venue for asking specific questions, but take advantage of the info Chris has put together on the other site.

Good luck.

Thanks everyone.

Paul G. - I had looked at the info Chris had (that's where I got the 19 hours) and I also have recipes from other places that had only 8 hours cooking time, but were similar in other ways. That's what got me confused. /infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

BTW: I've already got a 4-inch thick binder of awesome stuff printed from what Chris, and others, have posted on this website and forum! /infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Mark

Sounds like you've done your homework.