Offset vs H2O

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Hi All!

Don't let my forum name fool ya..... I'm new here and a complete noobee to smokers. But I really really reeeeally want one after this past weekend. My wife and I had a BBQ at a friends house and I must say that hands down I had some of the best ribs and chicken that I've ever tasted.

I have seen the light..... I is a believer now! LOL /infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Anyway, I currently have a Weber Silver B gas grill that I absolutely love and now I'm trying to learn a bit about smokers before I go buy one. The smoker that my friend has is an offset style CharBroil (ducks and runs)
offset_silversmoker.jpg

I'm trying to decide between the offset style or an H2O style like the WSM. I'm sure I'll be happy with the Weber but I'm just curious about the differences between these two very different styles of smokers. When would you want to use one over the other? What are the pros and cons of each? Thanks so much!

--BBQBob

Bob,

I am certain you will get many other good responses on this topic. I just want to pass on my immediate reaction to the question.

I have both, i.e., a Brinkmann Cimarron offset and the WSM. I love'em both, but the Cimarron is much more difficult to control temps on. The most outstanding characteistic of the WSM is its ability to maintain stable temps over a long time.

The offset commonly has more cooking space unless you modify the WSM. My advice to you is to get the WSM first and learn about the art of BBQ, and then expand your fleet later.

Whatever your choice, you can get lots of help from this bunch! /infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gif