Natural Lump Coal or Briquettes?

K Smith

I am new to smoking and my first question is whether I should use natural lump coal or briquettes? From what I have already read, it sounds like a lot of people have problems with the lump coal and prefer the briquettes. But I am interested in getting more opinions.

I prefer lump: less ash, no additives, easier to reuse the leftovers. But briquettes do have the advantage of being consistent in shape and size, so they pack together well and perhaps burn more predictably than lump. And, pound for pound, they are cheaper. Being new to smoking, you might want to stick with briquettes until you get some experience. Once you are able consistently to get the results you want while cooking with briquettes, then you can try lump to see if you like it better.

Briquettes are cheaper by a weight measurement but I think lump is about equally as expensive when measured by volume, which is how most people measure it out (Chimney starter). A bag of kingsford gets 3-4 grilling sessions, where a bag of lump is more like 7-8. In the end, I would guess that the cost per usage for grilling is pretty close to being a wash between the two - depending on what brand of lump you use etc.

I've been using Lump almost exclusively, and would tend to agree with what Alan said.
(I WOULD tend to disagree with his choice of Team to root-for
icon_razz.gif
)

If you properly pack the charcoal ring and use the second charcoal grate, for most typical cooks, Lump is easy to use. However, good brands can be hard to find in certain parts of the country, whereas good-ol' Kinsford is at least CONSISTENT.