Kettle Fried Chicken

ChuckH

TVWBB Super Fan
OK I have watched every YouTube video I can find about KFC, and It sounds like a very good way to prepare chicken. I have never made it, and am going to give it a go this weekend. The question I have for any that have made it, is there any advice, tricks or recipes that were stand out, and helped?

I do wings, thighs & drumsticks with "Louisiana Seasoned Crispy Chicken Fry" batter mix via my Vortex. I am very pleased with the outcome!

I think Rich Dahl has posted several threads on this. I have tried the method once (before getting my Vortex) and results were good with a “wet/dry” egg wash/breading. But, if you like more “crispy” I would go “dry/ wet/dry”method. Flour,(breading mix), egg wash, breading mix. That will increase the delicious crust!
I think that this kind of thing is where the Vortex really shines!

I've been making KFC for a couple of years and have tried a variety of coatings and methods from commercially made coatings to panko with my own seasonings. Dry/wet/dry works very well, but my favorite is really simple. I coat the chicken with mustard almost any will work I just use yellow mustard and Louisiana fish fry coating. Nice flavor and perfect crispness, quick and easy and no mess.
Also if your doing it for the first time on a kettle don't grab the lid handle with your bare hand..... You might end up with crispy skin too.:(

Can’t bring myself to buy one, I will try to make them at work one day and see how I do.
Agreed that it is a little steep for what it is. But it is a game changer for bone in skin on chicken. Whether you make one or buy one, you will be glad you did. If you have access to sheets of SS and a spot welder you should be able to make one no problem.