Kettle design and charcoal usage...

Status
Not open for further replies.

TristanH

Hi all,

I'm the proud owner of a 18.5" WSM and have been thinking of adding a 22.5" OTG to the stable.

I've never used a kettle grill before, but my dad has a Go-Anywhere charcoal that I've used many times.

My question is how much charcoal am I going to have to use if I just want to sear a couple steaks? Am I going to have to pile half a bag just to get the heat close enough to the grill? Or is this not the case for some reason? It seems to me it would be more efficient to have a somewhat shallower charcoal bowl on these.

Love Weber products, just wondering about the bulbous design.

Thanks for any opinions
Tristan

usually you will need a weber chimney full. you just can't go wrong with a kettle. that being said, if ya want to grill up just a few steaks then maybe just get a smokey joe silver and use some lomp. does a mean steak.

george is absolutely correct, a smoky joe will do the job.
i, however, always find something else to add to the grill with the steaks... i.e. halved onions, peppers, quartered Yukons... (the list is endless
icon_biggrin.gif
) butt then, i'm always hungry!
Welcome to the addiction Tristan,... i'd go with the 22.5" OTG or Silver or any Weber, for that matter, and load it up with food! And, a full Weber Charcoal Chimney is good enuf.
Enjoy!
wsmsmile8gm.gif

If you want the coals closer to the cooking grate all you need is a set of Weber Kettle Charcoal Rails and a second charcoal grate. Put the rails in like you are banking the coals off to the side. Then place the second charcoal grate on top of them. The hot coals will go on the second grate. When you add the cooking grate the hot coals will be only an inch or so away from it. I have found for 2-3 steaks you only need half a chimney of charcoal. The indirect heat will still be enough to grill some veggies off to the side.