I WANT TO OPEN MY OWN BBQ JOINT

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

G

I've been a mechanical engineer for the last 7 years. I've worked for Caterpillar, Cummins, and most recently Harman International (the company that makes audio systems like JBL and Harman/Kardon). I've been laid-off from each of these places due to "down-sizing". I'm sick and tired of working for companies that suck your talents from you and then kick you to the curb once you've made them millions of dollars!

Since I'm fed up with corporate bullshat, I've decided to open my own BBQ joint. The problem is this...I don't know the first thing about opening a business. Can anyone give me some tips on how to get started? I know the obvious things like getting food suppliers and a building with a good location, but what I don't know is how to get the business "off the ground" with health requirements, accounting, taxes, and all the things that go along with the business side of it. I can smoke meat, and I can sell pretty good. I just don't know the business side of owning your own BBQ joint.

I'm in Greenwood, IN (south side of Indianapolis). I would greatly appriciate it if you could give me some pointers on how to make my dream of "Simbo's BBQ Joint" a reality!

Happy 4th of July!
wsmsmile8gm.gif
icon_smile.gif

Most states have some type of Small Business office run by the state itself. They usually offer plenty of information, guidelines, classes, and even loans/grants to help small businesses get off the ground. A quick check of the internet shows the Indiana Small Business Development Center as an available resource. I'd give them a call to get started.