How long is meat good for in the fridge?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Russ

TVWBB Fan
I smoked 2 sams untrimmed briskets and 4 sams boston butts today for my department xmas party this Thursday. I usually don't smoke this far in advance, but I had to since its on a Thursay. Anyway, I don't want to waste tilia bags for a few days of storage, so I put everything in 1 gal ziplocks. If I just keep it in the fridge, will it be good until Thursday? That's 4-5 days. I usually eat it after it's beein in the fridge for that long, but I don't want anyone else to get sick (so far I haven't gotten sick!)
Thanks

Russ,

Preface by saying I am not an expert on how long you can safely store meat in the refrigerator, however, 4 to 5 days, to me, IMHO, is starting to get on the outer limits of what I would consider safe storage around my house.

If I cooked a steak on Sunday and put some in the refrigerator (well there wouldn't be any left to put in there, but..) I don't know that come Thursday or Friday I would eat it.

OK. So I probably would be better off putting it in the freezer for 1-2 days and taking it back out a cuople days prior, that would probably work OK.

Sort of on topic -- can anyone post their experiences with vacuum-pack foodsaver appliances? I've really been thinking hard about getting one of these. I'm looking at the Tilia Professional II -- it's got pretty good reviews on Amazon.com. It sounds like the Rival ones are so-so, and someone on this site discussed a Sears one they were considering (got me started thinking).

So, how's it work for BBQ? This may be my post-Christmas present to myself!

-Chris Estes-

Chris, I have the FoodSaver 550 and I love mine. It gives you an excuse to "overcook", when I get done I simply vacpac some bags with whatever I cooked and I have Q anytime I want.

Just have to be careful with liquids not getting up to the vac sealer rod or whatever you call it, or it won't make a good seal.