Help Removing Seized Bolt

John-NY

TVWBB Super Fan
These bolts are seized (Phillips head in the photo below). They are the bolts holding on the control panel in front of the manifold. I soaked them in penetrating oil all day yesterday, then tried a manual impact screwdriver with a sledge hammer today with no luck.

I’m thinking I’ll have to cut the heads off and “drill them out”.
Problem is, I’ve never done this before. Conceptually I know what to do, but want to do it “correctly” without having to tap new threads…because I don’t have the tools to tap them.

Is this video instruction accurate? I do have all the tools in this video.
Or is it possible that the screws are so “welded” stuck that the easy-out bit in this video could still fail to unscrew it? In that case, would my only final option be to drill them out and tap new threads?

IMG_4660.jpeg

Drilling out screws is not for the faint of heart. So easy to walk the bit off center. Honestly before I took such a drastic measure, I would work it with penetrant more. Old mechanic standby is PBlaster hit it with that for a couple days. Then heat. Heck even a MAP Gas plumber's torch will help. Stick with the manual impact screwdriver. Don't use a sledge though. Use a smaller thing like a ball peen or machinist hammer. 19oz or so is all you will need. Too large and heavy a hammer in my experience makes it deflect and bounce. Too hard to concentrate the "blow" correctly.
Bottom line do everything humanely possible to avoid a drill

I'm in the camp of more penetrating oil (I would use PB Blaster, Kroil, or Liquid Wrench) and wait some more.
Also, based on the photo, it looks like the bit you used might not have been a tight fit in the head. I have used manual impact drivers with success almost every time. If the phillips drive gets ruined, I would cut a big slot in the head and continue with the impact driver.