Ham/whole pig leg question

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

G

I am still new to my weber, only owned it now for 2 weeks and have had amazing results so far. My girlfriend wnats me to smoke her a ham. My butcher has ordered me in a whole pig leg with bone in as they dont have any uncooked ham, just the already half smoked stuff. I am wondering how many hours its gonna take to cook this bad boy. I planned in leaving a half nch layer of fat on it and cut 1/4 inch in to it in a checkered pattern. Make a nice brown sugar type rub for it, and baste it with pineapple juice towards the end. From what i have read i have to cook it til it's 165 inside it. And im guessing but its probly gonna take 18 plus hours to cook right? And what temperture should i cook it at? I am assuming basically a low temperature around 225-250. Any other tips you could give me would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Danny

Hi, Danny. Welcome to the board.

I do fresh hams (what you've ordered) fairly often. I score the skin (it's the skin that gets crosshatched into a diamond pattern--it gets crispy when cooked at high heat--but you can score the fat if you decide to remove the skin first) then I flavor-brine a couple-three days. I make a paste rub and grill-roast around 325-350 degrees, with smokwood, to an internal of 160. The skin is spicy hot/sweet, I remove it and chop it a little, and serve the meat sliced with a sauce.

This sauce of roasted pineapple and Dijon was one I did a while ago and the opening paragraph gives some idea of the process. (If you want more details let me know.)

Fresh hams can be cooked low and slow to a higher internal like butt (not a fave of mine), or low/slow to a lower internal (I don't see an advantage unless you need the time).