Goin' for it. First Brisket cook w'pics

Status
Not open for further replies.
Funny ROBO
icon_razz.gif

Can't wait for finished picks. I did one the same size last weekend...it came out great. Remember, let that bad boy rest for at least 2hrs. 4hrs is ideal! The meat will re-absorb the jucie and be soooooo tender!!!

Having a little trouble with the temperature.

Seems to want to stay at 245. It's stayed there for 30 minutes despite reducing the vents from about 35 % to 25%.

It's my first time using the Minion method so I'm still experimenting.

Currently have the vents at 25% and the lid at 100.

I'm about to turn the vents down to 12.5%.

It is?

I thought everything I read said 225 to 230.

For what it's worth I'm 2 and a half hours into the cook and my probe temp is 132.

245 is perfect if your talking lid temp. You can subtract 15 degrees from that to get a ball park grate temp. Let us know how it tasted.

Larry, Larry, Larry...haven't you learned your lesson yet about picking other peoples teams?...lol <joking>

I think we are all in for a lesson learned when the Eagles come around. This will be ugly.

Hey ROBO
That's gonna stick!

Nice looking brisket.
I like the countertops too.

Howdit turn out ?

I just pulled half a brisket off.
One half is pastrami with no cure, the other is just brisket. I've got two poussin in at the moment, as well, gonna try a variant of Shawn's mango glaze.

So Rob, did I miss dinner? If so what time can I drop by for leftovers? Guess I'll just have to hitch a ride with the next Florida Hurricane that's heading north LOL.

No problem Matt,

There are plenty of leftovers and the way your weather's been this year I'm sure you'll be here in no time.

I'm happy to report the brisket tasted really good. The flat section might have been a little drier than I would have liked but given all the problems with this cook I won't complain.