Getting Started

• Thread starter Thread starter Guest
  • Start date Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Hello All!

My new smoker arrived on Saturday and I can't wait to dive in. First off I should say that I am a real newbie to BBQ. We've been playing around with a modified two level fire in our kettle but that's about it.

I purchased a five pound turkey breast to inaugurate the smoker. I was planning to brine it tonight and smoke it tomorrow.

At BBQ.com I saw that some folks were suggesting a foodless fire to get rid of the new smoker smell. Is this necessary? Also, I was hoping that someone could advise me on the amount of charcoal and wood chunks to use and an approximate cooking time.

Thanks in advance for any help getting started.

Jim

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Jim Jenkins:
[qb] Hello All!

My new smoker arrived on Saturday and I can't wait to dive in. First off I should say that I am a real newbie to BBQ. We've been playing around with a modified two level fire in our kettle but that's about it.

I purchased a five pound turkey breast to inaugurate the smoker. I was planning to brine it tonight and smoke it tomorrow.