Genesis 3100 restoration project help

James O'Brien

TVWBB Fan
I picked this Red Headed Genesis up for $25 on CS this week, click the link for a look. I want to restore it completely and have a few questions.

1. To sandblast or not. I have access to a free sandblast box so I'm considering doing the cook box, the sides of the hood and the OG cast iron grill grates. Is this overkill? Is there anything I should know or be wary of with sandblasting? I know not to do the insides but only because I read that info online, otherwise I have zero sandblast knowledge.

2. I plan on scrubbing out the inside with a stainless steel scouring pad with the assistance of a paint scraper. What is good non toxic degreaser that will assist?

3. There is some of the inside coating warn away to the metal (no rust that I can see). What are my options to fix this? From what I've read only seasoning it the same as the cast iron is it. Anything at all go inside here to fix it?

4. Is the Rust-Oleum Ultra the best paint option? How many cans do I need? I've got extremely minimal spray paint experience.

Today is tear down day so when I'm done I'm sure I'll have more questions and a better idea of exactly what is lacking.

Thanks in advance

James

Hi James, how did teardown go?
While I have never sandblasted, I think if you can get it doen for free, why not?
You do not want to blast the inside of the hood. Its porcelain coated. Only the sides and the bootome cook box can be done. I assumee you can get those sides off?
Also, the cast iron grates may be porcelain coated. If they are, don't blast them I don;t know how to tell the differnece. I have had a true piece of cast iron blasted, but you must season it right away to prevent rust.
I use Easy Off oven cleaner from Home Depot. Sorry, It is toxic, but works the best.