first go at mr brown

TonyB

TVWBB Member
bought a couple 7lb "bone in" butts last night, got 'em trimmed and ready to go... put the rub on 'em this morn before i left for work and stuffed 'em in the fridge... at this point I'm committed... i love that... two mr. brown's goin in for the smoke around 10-12 oclock this evening for dinner tomorrow night... gonna have my wife and dad (he's up visiting from AL and is a BBQ snob, though he doesn't do his own, this butt smoke i've been talkin about has him thinkin about the WSM also) looking after 'em during the morning tomorrow after i leave for work... at the moment i'm plannin on about a 225° cooking session on the WSM in the ballpark of about 12-14 hours... gonna smoke with oak, hickory and apple chunks...

hopin this turns out good as i'm tryin to kinda "show off" for my dad... wasn't planning on doin this until the friday night but he's leaving before then so i gotta do it ASAP...

this is my first time doin Mr Brown, any suggestions from the peanut gallery???? what temp should i pull it off the grill and wrap in foil???

Are you talking lid temp or grate temp? I cook my butts at 240 lid temp, and they generally go around 18+ hours. Most of the butts I have done have been in the 7-8 lb range.

I have also taken to increasing the temp to around 250 in the AM to speed things up a bit.

I know others have had butts done in the 12-14 hour range. But, I can count on 18 hours for my cooks.

i use a standard dial thermometer stuffed thru the hole on the top vent... probe is about 4-5" long...

So,that gives a 225 lid temp, which translates to about 210-215 at the grate. I would probably up the cooking temp to the 240-250 range. The added heat will shorten the cook time. From my experience, it has also produced a more moist end product. From what I've seen, the longer cooks are lower temps can dry out the meat a bit.