First cook this weekend

Dave W

TVWBB Member
So my bullet arrived on Monday, and since it got here I haven't been able to stop thinking about it, reading this site, and planning for my first cook this weekend.

I'm a veteran of cooking pork butts and picnics on the weber kettle, but I'm really looking forward to the experience of the low & slow effect.

I'm doing a rather ambitious first cook, going to put on two 6 1/2 pound butts around midnight (using the minion method). Around noon on the next day I plan on moving the butts to the lower grate and adding some babybacks using a shorter version of 3-2-1.

This is my first WSM cook but I am an experienced griller. Still, am I crazy for trying this my first time?

Any hints or tips from WSM veterans who have done similar cooks? Will I need to add more coals or smoke wood when I add the ribs?

additionally, I'm prepared with an ET-73 wireless thermometer.

I realize the butts should be getting pretty close around noon, so I'll be monitoring them closely.

Welcome Dave.
Hope you like the low/slow style the WSM gives you. Makes a big difference than a higher temp kettle cooks.
What time do you plan on eating, and what is your target temp at the grate.

Planning on eating around 5-6.

Going to shoot for 235 or so at the grate. Will foil the butts in a cooler while the ribs finish.

at that temp, I'm hoping the butts won't take more than 13 hrs or so.

Careful with your times Dave. My butt cooks average 16-18 hours running 225* at the grate. I've had some stubborn cuts go as long as 22 hours!

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Russ Hazzon:
Careful with your times Dave. My butt cooks average 16-18 hours running 225* at the grate. I've had some stubborn cuts go as long as 22 hours! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Really? That long for a six pounder?