Dude, what have you been smokin'?

Jim_Munsey

TVWBB Member
Okay, I'm new to this (got WSM as Christmas present) and have pretty much stuck with ribs so far. But in the last month, with the weather lightening up, I've been branching out and tried the following, with varying results.
Note: followed the recipes on the site with minor variations, but in all cases tried to get the times/temps correct.

Pork Butt, Pulled: Cooked two 7 pound butts for about 14 hours. Lid temp measured about 230 throughout the smoke. Temp was roughly 190 throughout the butt. This turned out excellent, except there was a fair amount of 'white meat' (almost like pork loin) that was extremely dry/tough (almost like pork loin overcooked on the grill). Threw it away since we no longer have a dog. So what was good was great, but I clearly need more practice on this cut.

Copper River salmon (whole): Now this is more like it! Alder-smoked a 3-4 pound fish. Followed the temp guidelines from the site, and this came out perfectly. Only possible complaint was that I didn't let the brown sugar dry before applying, so some pieces were a bit sweeter than others due to uneven distribution. If this were not so expensive (and of course seasonal), I could go for this on a regular basis, and generally I'm not a fish fan.

Meatloaf: did two of these yesterday, about 1-1/2 pounds each, 50/50 beef/pork mixture. We can't get ground veal in the store anymore due to political correctness, I guess. In any case, this ended up very moist, very tasty.

I have noticed that it is somewhat difficult to keep my WSM up to temperature. I generally use the Minion method, unless recipe specifies otherwise. I generally have the smoker at the side of my house, which is basically a wind tunnel, so I'd think it would run hot rather than cool.

In any case, think I'll do some ribs on the 4th. Thanks again to all who contribute to the site and make it even possible for us newcomers to try new things.

Jim