Dry aged Brisket

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug Lax

TVWBB Super Fan
I recently saw an Alton Brown re-run where he dry-aged a prime rib roast. Has anyone ever tried this with brisket? Would this enhance the taste of brisket like it does for prime rib? /infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

They don't last that very long my refrigerator before they get put on the smoker!

The theory behind dry aging is to dessicate or dehydrate the meat at cold temperatures to concentrate the beef flavor by letting some of the water evaporate out.

I'm no food scientist, but one would think that would be more critical in a tender cut of beef like a prime rib or a steak with a relatively short cooking time. Whereas the lowly, tough brisket has plenty of beef flavor already. Like most tougher cuts.

That being said, in a recent Paul Kirk Pitmaster class here in the San Francisco bay Area, Paul mentioned that he prefers certified Angus beef, aged (for I can't remember how many days. Chris A, do you recall?) I also don't recall wether he meant dry aging like Alton Brown does, or just aged in cryovac.

Another good question is this: Is't all beef aged to some degree before it is sold? For how long?

Excellent question. Let me see if I can round up answers from Paul on his brisket aging preferences.

There are some competitive BBQers who wet age their briskets in the Cryovac in the fridge for several weeks. A while back on The BBQ Forum, I read that one competitor wet-aged his briskets for as long as 45 days from the date of packing printed on the case box.

In the book "The Complete Meat Cookbook", the authors mention 36*F as a target storage temp. They write, "This form of aging will help to tenderize the meat by the same enzymatic processes involved in dry-aging. But because wet-aging involves no loss of moisture through evaporation, the flavors do not become concentrated as they do with dry-aging."