Country Ham

Status
Not open for further replies.

B. Foster

TVWBB Fan
All,

I'm planning on smoking a country ham and a turkey for around 40 folks this coming Thanksgiving. I've smoked many turkeys but I've got very little experience with uncooked, cured hams.

Does anyone have any tips they'd like to offer? I'd surely appreciate them.

Thanks!

Oh, and I'm also wondering if it's even possible on the WSM. I read the cooking section about picking hams and it said it basically wasn't compatible. Is it a whole different technique?

I'm also thinking that it may be a bit to salty...I may have to call the butcher back and see if he can get a 'city' ham as the cooking topic suggests.

B,
Not sure if the "Country" ham is the one you want to be cooking. I could be wrong but you may just want to pick up just a regular ham. In my experience with country ham, I have always boiled the slices and dumped the water to get much of the salt out of it. I am sure if I am wrong someone will chime in and let me know.

B, yes the country hams are salty. I tried one one time and did not like it. I soaked it for the required time in water and changed the water per the directions and it was still way too salty. JMO I would go with the city ham if that's the taste your used to.
icon_wink.gif
Bryan

Country hams can be smoked with hickory, pecan or a fruitwood. The thing that needs to be done to get the best results is to soak on fresh water for a couple of days, changing the water 3 or 4 times during that time.

Smoke to 160 internal in the center of the ham,very good eating.
Jim

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Jim Minion:
Country hams can be smoked with hickory, pecan or a fruitwood. The thing that needs to be done to get the best results is to soak on fresh water for a couple of days, changing the water 3 or 4 times during that time.

Smoke to 160 internal in the center of the ham,very good eating.
Jim <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>