Chipotles

Mike F.

TVWBB Super Fan
Made some chipotles this weekend using Cris's tutorial.Chipotles I think they came out Great! Don't yet know how hot they are, that will follow.(I only bit off a tiny end piece to taste for dryness and smoke. Both were good.) I used a hotplate with the WSM and added a small piece of hickory every couple of hours and smoked them until they were completly dry. It took about 26 hours at 150 degrees. The only downside to this was that my coveted 25 year old wagner 10.5 inch skillet cracked! Don't know why. (I placed it on the hotplate before I turned it on to bring it up to temperature.) Oh well.
icon_frown.gif
I still used it for it's last stand to make some incredible chipotles. Pics below. (hope the links work allright, it's my first attempt at the photo thing.)

http://i449.photobucket.com/albums/qq215/mikefmike/P1010001.jpg
http://i449.photobucket.com/albums/qq215/mikefmike/P1010002.jpg
http://i449.photobucket.com/albums/qq215/mikefmike/P1010003.jpg
http://i449.photobucket.com/albums/qq215/mikefmike/P1010004.jpg
http://i449.photobucket.com/albums/qq215/mikefmike/P1010005.jpg
http://i449.photobucket.com/albums/qq215/mikefmike/P1010008.jpg

Those are great pictures. Were they peppers you grew yourself? They look a lot better than store bought.

I know a great deal of heat comes from the membrane ribs, and the seeds, since they are attached to them. So I figured the seeds would be scooped out before smoking them. Either way, they look delicious. Are they bone dry enough to grind up in a spice grinder?

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">I know a great deal of heat comes from the membrane ribs, and the seeds </div></BLOCKQUOTE>