Cherry Barbecue Sauce

Scott Hoofman

TVWBB Super Fan
Hello Everyone (newbie here)
Been smoking for about three years, but just lately decided to go big time and get a WSM. My question is this: does anyone have a good (as opposed to bad) recipe for a cherry based barbecue sauce? I've never been able to find one.

Hmmmmmmm, to jelly or not to jelly. I'll have to think about that. How hot would you rate the jelly on a 1 - 10 scale, with 10 being the hottest?

Not bad. The jalapeno jelly is about a 7. It's good stuff. Now the pineapple habbanero....well...it's a little hotter but it is my favorite.

Loren

Loren--I like pepper jellies too. Shawn posted a good recipe for habanero jelly in the recipe section if you like making your own. Very tasty.

Scott--I've made several cherry-based Q sauces. I use Morello cherries in light syrup as a base. Most often I do one for smoked turkey or duck but have also done them for red meats. If you can give me an idea of what type of sauce your looking for--for what kind of meat and what other ingredients you're thinking of--I'd be happy to post some suggestions.

Thanks Kevin
Some years ago I attended our local culinary school here in Grand Rapids for a few classes. While there I learned of a prof. who was famous for his smoked ribs and cherry barbecue sauce. Never did get to try them, but they sounded so good that I've always wanted to try it myself. I guess, in answer to your question, that, at least at first, I'm looking for a sauce that will emphasis the tart sweetness of the cherries, with just enough spiciness to complement them. I'd rather err on the side of fruitiness at first, then work at adjusting the spices as necessary. Texture wise, a chunky, perserve like sauce would be great, but not necessary. Thanks alot to both you and loren for replying.

Okay, good. I have a crazy next couple days ahead of me but I'll be tossing around your ideas meanwhile and I'll post something as soon as I can.