Charcoal lighting and the Guru Golf Club

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nate Brown

Do any of you wish you could get your charcoal started even faster than the standard method of lighting it the chimney? Well I know I do. I am a professional firefighter so I know I can figure out a way to get my charcoal going quick! My first idea was to weld up a weed burner to a stand that I could set the chimney on and light it. It was working well, but I just couldn't leave well enough alone so I had to see just how far I could turn up the propane on the 500,000 BTU burner. Well I turned up high enough that the flame started bouncing back down on my hand, which caused me to jerk it away, which caused me to accidently knock over the entire contraption onto my wooden deck. I have a nice charred spot now that I cover up with my drip pan. Thank goodness no one saw me do it and called the FD. I don't think I would ever live that one down. So I guess I would have to say that the weed burner worked great it was just a bit to dangerous even for a trained professional like me.