Buying Weber gas grill Help

Mike R

I’ve been looking at Webers. Looks like I’m the perfect candidate for a used /refurbished one. I was considering buying a new 3 burner spirit but after coming here I think it makes more sense to get a used one since Im a newbie. I see a newer Weber GS4 grill spirit II for $200 in great condition, an older summit or older genesis for about the same. There are so many options and I’m not sure what to look for. For example which genesis model is the best?. I know I can replace certain things easily but others are deal breakers, so what should I inspect when buying a grill? I don’t mind putting work or time in as long as it’s in my skill set. I’ve been reading your advice but still need a little guidance. Currently leaning toward the summit in the picture-I like that it Is open cart style.

Attachments

• 573D3108-3D3A-4175-8CB3-A46EB03C4AB1.jpeg
    573D3108-3D3A-4175-8CB3-A46EB03C4AB1.jpeg
    142.6 KB · Views: 24
You can’t go wrong with a good old genesis silver b. Parts are readily available and also available around. Earlier models are staring to dwindle in availability. Just look for one that has a good frame and replace the internals.

My advice is stay away from Summit line. While the older ones were fairly simple, VERY reliable and cooked great they're rust buckets all of them from 1st generation to present. I would also avoid any Genesis with front mounted controls. (goes for the newer Spirit line as well IMO VERY chintzy). IF you want to go older stay with an earlier sidewinder Genesis with no cabinet.

Stay way away from the Summit line. Many on this list have gone down that rabbit hole and when the finally come up, they have dirt all over their face.