Building 4.3 - is there a difference between 25v and 10v caps? can I use 25v for both?

Louis P

Hello!

Been lurking for a while and LOVE this community. I'm planning on building v4.3 very shortly, and not being an electronics expert, I was wondering if I could use 25v caps for both the 10v and 25v 100uF listed in the bill of material. I would assume yes, but wanted to be sure.

Thanks!
Louis

With caps higher voltage is always acceptable, but higher voltage caps can be larger, so you need to make sure they will physically fit in the spot and lead spacing will work.

I just tested and the 100uF 25V (the biggest capacitor in the standard BOM) fits when used in all 4 capacitor holes and would be suitable for use in all of them. The lead spacing holes for our 100uF/10V and 47u/25V are 2.5mm, so the spacing is actually for the larger 25V capacitor already. I used the wrong footprint when I designed the 4.0 HeaterMeter, it should be 2.0mm lead spacing, but it is close enough that I never revisited it.

But also to confirm what Ralph said, you can always use a higher voltage rated capacitor (i.e. 25V instead of 10V), and in our case we can even use a 100uF in place of the 47uF (and would actually be better for voltage mode output).

I just tested and the 100uF 25V (the biggest capacitor in the standard BOM) fits when used in all 4 capacitor holes and would be suitable for use in all of them. The lead spacing holes for our 100uF/10V and 47u/25V are 2.5mm, so the spacing is actually for the larger 25V capacitor already. I used the wrong footprint when I designed the 4.0 HeaterMeter, it should be 2.0mm lead spacing, but it is close enough that I never revisited it.

But also to confirm what Ralph said, you can always use a higher voltage rated capacitor (i.e. 25V instead of 10V), and in our case we can even use a 100uF in place of the 47uF (and would actually be better for voltage mode output).