Brisket cook time

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nick P.

TVWBB Super Fan
I'm doing a brisket Friday for my son who is on leave for 10 days from the USMC. The brisket is small (6lbs). I need advise on cook time and internal temp. of finshed product.
Nick P.

Well, I am no pro, but have had lots of success with my briskets. It takes roughly 1 to 1 1/2 hours per pound to get them to internal temp cooking at about 225F. I like to cook my briskets to about 180F (internal) then foil them until they reach close to 200F (internal). Then I pull it off and wrap it in a blanket and put it in a dry cooler for at least an hour or so.

So a 6 pounder would take anywhere from 6 to 9 hours to cook. If it were me, I would plan for about 8 hours and be prepared to hold it in the cooler longer if need be. Just don't underestimate the cook time or your guests may end up hungry as they wait
icon_wink.gif

Nick, many schools of how to cook them but one thing is for sure. Keep your temp in the smoker at 225 or lower. I agree w/ Steve, you'll be looking at 1 1/2 hrs to 2hrs a pound. So I would plan more on the 12 hr time frame than 9 but that's me. Try to keep the temp of the smoker where I mentioned as the fat in the brisket will boil and the finished product seems more like a well done pot roast if the temp in the cooker gets to high or the internal temp goes over 190(I've done it).

Take it to an internal of 180 to 190 and then take it off and wrap it in heavy duty foil and put it in a dry cooler to rest for a few hours. Then slice it or shred it and enjoy!

Some guys like to take the meat to 160 and then foil it and put it back on the smoker till it gets to 190 but thats preference. I might try that next time but not foiling is just fine as well.