Billows fan questions

Chris-P

TVWBB Member
I've been using my Signals/Billows combo for about 10 months now. I love how it works (but absolutely hate the software).

I update the firmware whenever prompted, so I know I'm up-to-date as of this moment (v 2.81). I wish they would give some sort of info on exactly what it is updating but that's another software development issue that annoys me.

Is it normal for the Billows to kick off and on over and over when coming up to the set temperature? Sometimes it will go just full on and keep going, other times, when getting close to the set temp (or not), it will cycle on/off, on/off, on/off.....so I'm assuming this is normal? It's done this since new.

I've seen this on their site: "Billows now comes with Open Lid Detection, Billows returns the smoker to your set temp much quicker." I had taken the lid off, removed the brisket, put the lid back on and the Billows didn't kick back on. I unplugged the power wire and plugged it back in and Billows immediately kicked on but it begins to cycle on/off/on/off, etc . It had lost probably 25 degrees and I would have expected the fan to go full on. It felt like the inlet in the fan was a little gritty when plugging in the power wire. I would have blown it out, but I wasn't in the mood for some awkward positioning on the ground in broad daylight with my smoker and the fan. Would it be safe to use electrical cleaner to blast out grit in the inlet?

When one opens the lid on a WSM, sufficient oxygen is added to the fire so that the WSM will in some cases cause the WSM to become a blast furnace. What your Billows was doing was trying to save your butt.

You may have lost those 25 degrees, but only temporarily...

Last edited:
Join the billows insiders on Facebook i got the new software and lots of the kinks are taken care of

Attachments

• ThermoWorksCloud ExportedData.jpeg
    ThermoWorksCloud ExportedData.jpeg
    78.5 KB · Views: 29