Big Ole Bird!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug Lax

TVWBB Super Fan
After reading the honey brine recipe I noticed that the largest bird in the WSM was 22 lbs.
I am going to do a 26 lber. I am brining it as I type for 48 hrs. I am going to cook it @ 325 foil the wings and legs after 2 hours. I will let you know how it turns out. /infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Hey buddy, you ought to have left overs for awhile. Only got a 16lb'er been brining since this morning in the apple brine. Doug, you and your family have a great Thanksgiving!

Hi Doug ~ I'm a newbie here. Good to meet you.

I posted a question earlier, and since it seems you are a veteran at brining, wondered if you could answer this for me. You will find it here Cooking in brine

Thanks so much, beforehand, for your response ~ Hope your bird turns out simply lovely!

Well folks,
I am recovering from the Flu /infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif so I thought I would post the results of my cook.
As I believed before I could and did cook a 26 pounder in the WSM . The bird cooked @ 325 for 4 hours. I t had been brined for 48 hrs. Some things I learned while peaking ( I know I know I am not supposed to) . Due to the birds size it was all over the smoker . this does complicate the cook but not make it impossible. The wings and the thighs browned (as much as I wanted too after the first hour.) I foiled them then along with the breast and the thigh . Over all it turned out really well the meat cooked evenly (due to the brining) . the bird was a good as any I had done before. /infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Doug Lax: