Appetizer suggestions?

Al Bokolor

Hello - newbie here...going to smoke a couple of ribs on my WSM Saturday and was thinking about smoking some type of appetizer next to it. Thinking maybe sausage and then slice it thin, place it on small pieces of toasted bread with pineapple on it and serve as early snack/munchy while the ribs smoke...anyone have any favorites apps they can suggest that can be smoked or grilled on my gas grill as a neat/different app? Appreciate any and all suggestions/tips...thanks...

Some of the old standbys..... Moinks (basically a bacon wrapped meatball), ABT (try different cr cheeses- pineapple or jalapeño )

U could always try a fatty--- many different variations

Try a tray of doctored up baked beans sitting on bottom rack underneath the ribs... Very good....

Al, like Kurt said, there's nothin' like a rack full of ABT's (Jalapenos cored and stripped of the membrane, stuffed with shredded cheddar or softened cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and sprinkled with yer favorite rub) right off the smoker....and welcome to the forum, by the way!

Regards,

Rooster

Chicken wings/thighs/drumsticks work great, plus you can have a variety of sauces for them. I think they're a good match for ribs since they get your fingers all messy too. :)

I'm talking the little ones you'd make buffalo wings with, not big ones like KFC sells.

I like the idea of ABT's but have gotten inconsistent results and mixed reviews on them (typically, jalapenos too hot or bacon too limp). I am getting to where I prefer to do wings as appetizers. You won't get crisp skin at the temperature range at which you'll be smoking your ribs, but you could start the wings on the WSM for some smokey flavor and then finish them on your gas grill (or in a fryer) to crisp the skin. I did beef tenderloin and wings for a graduation party last week, and the wings disappeared fast. I started the wings on the smoker and finished them in a fryer for crisp skin.