Anyone own a BBQ restaurant???

Colin B.

TVWBB Member
I'm a chef, I've worked all over the world. I own a pub/bar. I was just wondering if there are any more professionals out there?

Very nice site there Konrad. How long have you been doing it? (the restaurant) Would love to hear how you got started. I spent some time on your site looking at pics and such. I'll bet the history is there also. I'll take another look lol. Gives someone a goal to shoot for.

I started with BBQ at a tender age in South Africa watching my grandfather cook a whole Ox on a spit. Fast forward a few decades and we got in to competition BBQ while wasting our lives at Mocrosoft. We started a catering company which is still our best source of income. We are running the restaurant at the Golf course so we have a certified kitchen. We are in the process of building out our own kitchen. It will be a big catering Kitchen with food to go. Building out a kitchen is a long experience in dealing with city paperwork.

Our new place will not have sit down dining and that is fine with us as it is the most labor per meal served. My wife and I can spend one day cooking for 600 people and with two helpers feed 600 people a BBQ buffet.

Konrad,
that is my dream job. I would like to take the jump but too scared right now. I need bigger cajones I guess plus a clue how to run a food service. I can cook, always could but there is a bunch more to it than that. This I realize.

I am owner of 2 small companys neither having a thing to do with food, but I understand tax, insurances, ect so if it happens I wont be totally in the dark. Do you have any suggestions for a wannabe? Thanks in advance.

Dale--Hope you don't mind my jumping in. The first thing is to decide what exactly you want to start with (you can always look to expand your concept later): Q joint? Q restaurant with more than Q as offerings? Bar? Catering on the side? Catering primarily? Lots of possibilites--what does your heart say?