another clay pot question !

brian diethert

i'm about to fire up my wsm for it's maiden smoke, and am going to go the clay pot route with no water on some ribs. with the new bigger water pan i can't find a clay saucer around my area that's the right fit, all i can find is a 12 " one that will fit inside a couple of inches. will this still be o.k. ?

I'm a rookie too with 3 smokes under my belt and I've been using a pizza stone. It fits right into the water pan about 2 inches from the top. I just cover with foil, for easy cleanup, and it's been working great. No big temperature spikes yet and the cleanup is easy.

Good luck.

Brian, the clay pot bottom is not needed.
Water is a very effective heat sink, but a clay pot is not. Without water the empty water pan functions as a heat diffuser.
The WSM works fine in this setup.
I do suggest that the first few cooks you use water till the seasoning process seals some of the leaks.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Water is a very effective heat sink, but a clay pot is not. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Not sure I agree with this statement. I never use water and generally cook everything except beef ribs at 300 degrees or higher. But when I do cook low and slow, I've found the clay saucer to be pretty effective at controlling temps.