Advice...WSM or offset firebox smoker?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Henry Joe Peterson

TVWBB Super Fan
OK I know this isn't brief, but here's my story.

I've been using a Brinkman electric bullet-type smoker for a couple of years now. And I can make pretty good BBQ on it. In my humble opinion, my ribs and pork butt turn out great. My brisket, I'll admit, is hit or miss. But when I hit it, it's awesome
But I want to graduate to the next level of BBQ skills.

I will say that I had kinda made up my mind intially go the offset route.

But since then, everyone I've spoke with on the net or on the phone is split down the middle -- half say go with the offset, the others say go to a WSM.

Here's what I know and have heard.

People swear by the WSM. People win competitions using them. This site is awsome. They're relatively inexpensive and after 3 years on the electric I 'm confident that I can make the think work for me. That's good.

On the other hand, people also love their offset firebox cookers. But, I've never used one before. I've done a fair amount of research on various barnds. Most of the high quality ones tend to be fairly expensive.

But they're hard to come by in the Bay Area.
You can find the relatively inexpensive medels around here. For example, Home Depot has the New Braunfels Silver Smoker. But it's not thick metal and it doesn't appear to be well made.
BBQ's Galore has the Oklahoma Joe's Texas Wrangler model. Thicker metal than the New Braunfels, but still not 1/4 inch thick.

Various questions:
1) WSM or firebox? Anyone use both? Which do you like better and why?
2) Are offest firebox smokers really a pain in the butt to keep a constant temperature? In comparision, is the WSM easier?
3) Anybody have any experience with the brands/models of offset smokers I listed above?