A very special request.......

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steve Hilmer

TVWBB Super Fan
A very good friend (more like my brother) has kidney problems. He had a transplant that worked for about 8 years but it has failed and he is back on dialysis. He has to restrict salt intake, Potassium, Phosphate, and things I am still learning about. I do know meat is on his good list so I would like to treat him to a good BBQ. I am tring to create a good BBQ menu with sides for him. Any thoughts would be really helpful. I am planing on around 20-25 guests and I will be doing the whole thing alone. I love to cook so this is no biggie but need to plan correctly so all goes smoothly. I have my WSM and also access to Treagers, I have a BBQ 70 and a couple others I use for demos. I am planning to use them as both smokers and holding areas for cooked food. In smoke mode the Treager runs around 150*, perfect for holding food for a while. I need to make sauces, rubs, et. Any thoughts? /infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

I have a couple of folks in the family with severe allergies. When in doubt I cook it plain.

1. Perhaps you could do some of your BBQ meat plain and serve with sauces and salt or seasoning. Cook the plain stuff on the top rack and keep the seasoned stuff on the bottom.
Who knows, you might even find you like it au natural.

2. Just skip the salt, MSG and commercial ingrediants containing these things in your rub and sauce recipes?

3. There are some low salt/salt free alternatives like Spike and Ms.Dash. I'd read the label carefully to see how low, but you might be able to use these to some extent. Some grocers carry Spike or try a Health Food store.

4. Make your friend bring his own food. Why should everyone else miss out? Just kidding.

Hope you enjoy your day!